BASEBALL NOVA SCOTIA UMPIRE DIVISION DISCUSSION FORM
Register Calendar
 
 
 


Reply
  Author   Comment  
patrick_mccarthy_hfx

Registered:
Posts: 10
Reply with quote  #1 
In our game this week the opposing team had a runner on second base.  We had our pitcher "Wheel" around and fake the throw to second.  Foot was still on the rubber and did his proper step toward second base.  However, he stopped his throw as the runner broke for 3rd.  He then threw out the runner at 3rd.   The umpire called a balk and stated that you cannot wheel and fake a throw to second that you must throw to the base.  My understanding is you only have to throw to first base but all other bases you do not have to throw.  Can someone clarify for me .... thanks
Ump29

Registered:
Posts: 264
Reply with quote  #2 
You can fake a throw to second. You cannot fake to first or third.
__________________
Ken Hartling
patrick_mccarthy_hfx

Registered:
Posts: 10
Reply with quote  #3 
Thank you.  That is what I thought.
patrick_mccarthy_hfx

Registered:
Posts: 10
Reply with quote  #4 
Here is the actual rule

8.05 If there is a runner, or runners, it is a balk when-

(a) The pitcher, while touching his plate, makes any motion naturally associated with his pitch and fails to make such delivery; If a lefthanded or righthanded pitcher swings his free foot past the back edge of the pitcher's rubber, he is required to pitch to the batter except to throw to second base on a pick off play.

(b) The pitcher, while touching his plate, feints a throw to first base and fails to complete the throw;

(c) The pitcher, while touching his plate, fails to step directly toward a base before throwing to that base; Requires the pitcher, while touching his plate, to step directly toward a base before throwing to that base. If a pitcher turns or spins off of his free foot without actually stepping or if he turns his body and throws before stepping, it is a balk. A pitcher is to step directly toward a base before throwing to that base but does not require him to throw (except to first base only) because he steps. It is possible, with runners on first and third, for the pitcher to step toward third and not throw, merely to bluff the runner back to third; then seeing the runner on first start for second, turn and step toward and throw to first base. This is legal. However, if, with runners on first and third, the pitcher, while in contact with the rubber, steps toward third and then immediately and in practically the same motion "wheels" and throws to first base, it is obviously an attempt to deceive the runner at first base, and in such a move it is practically impossible to step directly toward first base before the throw to first base, and such a move shall be called a balk. Of course, if the pitcher steps off the rubber and then makes such a move, it is not a balk.

yarmouthump

Registered:
Posts: 78
Reply with quote  #5 
I think you have an old rulebook for your 1st and 3rd reference.

Rule 6.02(a )(3) Comment (Rule 8.05(c) Comment ): Requires
the pitcher, while touching his plate, to step directly toward a
base before throwing to that base. If a pitcher turns or spins off
of his free foot without actually stepping or if he turns his body
and throws before stepping, it is a balk.
A pitcher is to step directly toward a base before throwing to
that base and is required to throw (except to second base)
because he steps. It is a balk if, with runners on first and third,
the pitcher steps toward third and does not throw, merely to
bluff the runner back to third; then seeing the runner on first
start for second, turn and step toward and throw to first base. It
is legal for a pitcher to feint a throw to second base.

Dartmouth_610ump

Registered:
Posts: 1
Reply with quote  #6 
What would the call be if there is a runner on second. He breaks for third.. pitcher steps toward third and throws to third, still having contact with the rubber..

Would throwing to shortstop still be an unoccupied base?
patrick_mccarthy_hfx

Registered:
Posts: 10
Reply with quote  #7 
It would be a balk.  You cannot step towards an empty base and throw.   The key is as long as the pitcher steps towards second base he can stop his throw and then throw to short or 3rd base.  He/she must step towards second base.
yarmouthump

Registered:
Posts: 78
Reply with quote  #8 
If R2 is stealing with 3rd base unoccupied and the pitcher steps towards 3rd and throws to F5, it is not a balk if it is to make a play. See rule 6.02a4
Previous Topic | Next Topic
Print
Reply

Easily create a Forum Website with Website Toolbox.