BASEBALL NOVA SCOTIA UMPIRE DIVISION DISCUSSION FORM
Register Calendar
 
 
 


Reply
  Author   Comment  
patrick_mccarthy_hfx

Registered:
Posts: 8
Reply with quote  #1 

The batter squares to bunt as the pitch is made. He leaves his bat over the plate, but does not make an effort to lay down a bunt. If the pitch is not in the strike zone is it considered to be a strike, if the batter does not attempt to pull his bat back from over the plate?

According to MLB Umpire Answer:  There is no restriction about the batter holding his bat over the plate. In order for the umpire to rule a strike, the batter must attempt to "strike" at the ball (see Rule 5.03 and the definition of "Strike"). We often say the batter has "offered" at the pitch if he attempts to hit it.  Just leaving the bat in the zone is not “offering”.


However, many times local umpires have told me that just leaving the bat in the zone is considered a strike.  Can someone please provide me with clarification.   My research seems to indicate that this is one of those baseball myths. 

Hopefully someone can clarify for me

Thanks
Pat

patrick_mccarthy_hfx

Registered:
Posts: 8
Reply with quote  #2 
I am dissapointed that no one has stepped up to provide an answer on this one.
sergevp

Registered:
Posts: 5
Reply with quote  #3 

From the rule book definitions:
A BUNT is a batted ball not swung at, but intentionally met with the bat and tapped slowly within the infield.

A STRIKE is a legal pitch when so called by the umpire, which:

(a) Is struck[swung] at by the batter and is missed;

Ergo if a bunt is not a swing, it can't be a strike just by virtue of being left up.

Serge


patrick_mccarthy_hfx

Registered:
Posts: 8
Reply with quote  #4 
excellent .... thanks Serge
Previous Topic | Next Topic
Print
Reply