sergevp
Interesting play tonight.  Runner on second attempts steal of third. Pitch not swung on catcher makes catch, throws to third but hits batter still in the box right on the helmet, ball goes out of play into the woods over the third base line dug out.  call on the field was runner gets the base he was going to. But not the one extra. I would have thought the runner should get home.  

sergevp
Quote
sergevp
I should add that the batter did nothing to make the umpire consider an interference call.
Quote
sergevp
So my thinking is either batter obstructed the batter obstructed and the runner is declared out or there was no obstruction and the catcher is now a fielder and misthrew the ball out of play,  runner gets awarded2 bases.  Can anybody point to a rule thawould only give the runner third?

thanks,

Serge
Quote

Add a Website Forum to your website.