yarmouthump
Two situations, both mosquito A:

1) R1 steals second and the catcher throws wild into the outfield. Is R1 permitted to score?
2) R2 steals 3rd and the catcher throws wild into the outfield. Is R2 permitted to score?

My understanding of the mosquito rule is that the runner in each situation should be permitted to score. It is continuous action.  

Rick
Quote
sergevp
It is my understanding that the continuous play needs to follow a hit.  Rule as I recall is runner must be hit in to score from third.
Quote
Ump29
This is the rule from the Bluenose Handbook :
4.4 11U A Only
A runner on 3rd base cannot score on a
pass ball or wild pitch. A runner on 3rd base cannot advance home
as a result of any interaction between the pitcher and the catcher.
In all cases where the pitcher pitches the ball to the catcher and there is a pass ball
or the catcher throws the ball back to the pitcher, regardless of the results of that
throw, No advancement shall be permitted from 3

From this I would conclude that the runner can score as the action was not passed
ball or interaction between pitcher and catcher.
 
 
Ken Hartling
Quote
yarmouthump
I thought so too but after discussing it with Blaine, the runner must stop at 3rd  I don't agree because I think it is continuous action but that's not how they want it interpreted. 
Quote
Ump29
This is from the BNS Handbook :

9.10 11U B, A Only
A runner on 3rd base cannot score on a pass ball or wild pitch. A runner on 3rd base cannot advance home as a result of any interaction between the pitcher and the catcher. In all cases where the pitcher pitches the ball to the catcher and there is a pass ball or the catcher throws the ball back to the pitcher, regardless of the results of that throw, no advancement shall be permitted from 3rd.

This includes attempted throws to 2nd base in a 1st and 3rd scenario. Runners can only score as a result of the hitter being walked or hit by a pitch with the bases loaded, or baseball plays as a result of a ball being hit into play.

So in the case of games not under Bluenose league (maybe) the runners from third have to be hit home.
This seems to be a conflicting rule. Part of this rule was dropped when it was put into the Bluenose Handbook.



Ken Hartling
Quote
sergevp
Official rules of baseball Canadian content under rules governing mosquito, 

5.06(7.00)
(b) The runner at 3rd base can reach home plate only if the ball is hit or because he is forced to advance. If there is a violation, the runner is returned to his base.

cheers,  

Serge
Quote
yarmouthump
As I mentioned earlier, Blaine has clarified that the runner cannot score in my situations.  
Everyone who is quoting the rule does not make it any clearer because it says "the runner at third....". The confusion in my situations is that the runners do not start at third so the rule does not seem to apply and makes it open to interpretation. It should say something like "ALL RIGHT base runners can only score as a result of the action of the batter or they must stop at 3rd base". Clear, no interpretation. 
Quote